Tharwa Project Advisory Board

Back when it was s till an unofficial NGO run as part of a publishing house, Tharwa was known as the Tharwa Project, and was run in cooperation with a number of regional and international advisers. This is the Tharwa Project Advisory Board at the time: 

  1. Dr. Saad Eddin Ibrahim, Director of the Ibn Khaldun Center, Cairo.
  2. Dr. Sadiq Jalal Al-Azm, Professor of Philosophy, Damascus University.
  3. Dr. Gilles Kepel, l’Institut d’Études Politiques de Paris.
  4. Dr. Yitzhak Nakash, Professor of History, Brandeis University.
  5. Dr. Flynt Leverett, Visiting Fellow, the Brookings Institution, Washington DC.
  6. Dr. Ugarit Younan, Movement for Peoples Rights, Beirut.
  7. Dr. Antoine Nasri Messarra, Sociology Professor, the Lebanese University, Cofounder of the Lebanese Foundation for Permanent Civil Peace.
  8. Dr. Samir Altaqi, Center for Strategic Studies, Damascus.
  9. Dr. Lars Erslav Andersen, Senior Researcher, Danish Institute for Advanced Studies in the Humanities, Copenhagen.
  10. Mr. Jakob Skovgaard-Petersen, Associate Professor, the Carsten Niebuhr Institute, Copenhagen.
  11. Mr. Maurits S. Berger, Senior Research Fellow, Netherlands Institute of International Relations (Clingendael), The Hague.
  12. Mr. Brian Whitaker, Journalist, the Guardian, London.
  13. Mr. Fred Reed, Author and Freelance Journalist, Montréal.
  14. Mr. Fuad A. Giacaman, Director of the Arab Educational Institute, Bethlehem.
  15. Mrs. Mahasen Al-Imam, Journalist, Director of the Arab Women Media Center, Amman.
  16. Mr. Ammar Abdulhamid, DarEmar Consulting Director and Tharwa Project General Coordinator, Damascus.